7519472

Forced to his knees in agony whenever he speaks the truth, Gideon can recognize any lie―until he captures Scarlet, a demon-possessed immortal who claims to be his long-lost wife. He doesn’t remember the beautiful female, much less wedding―or bedding―her. But he wants to…almost as much as he wants her.

But Scarlet is keeper of Nightmares, too dangerous to roam free. A future with her might mean ultimate ruin. Especially as Gideon’s enemies draw closer―and the truth threatens to destroy all he’s come to love….

underline+(transparent)

Okay, so anyone familiar with the Lords of the Underworld series will know that sweet, darling Gideon (hm, wonder who my favourite character is!?) is keeper of Lies and, as a result, can’t utter a single truth without suffering intense, debilitating pain…so Gideon communicates in a rather interesting way. Picture this; you meet the man (or woman) of your dreams, perhaps on the daily commute into work, and they flash you a smile that promises sin and seduction. They lean forward and whisper in your ear, their voice nothing more than a husky murmur…

“You’re so ugly.”

Oooo. Awkward…not to mention rude and hurtful! You’d probably give them a slap, right? Now do you understand poor Gideon’s problem? Everything he says is the opposite of what he means and I did seriously consider writing this review in Gideon speech but figured it’d be way too confusing. But enough about Gideon, let’s talk about his book, a book I was eagerly powering through the series to read!

The Darkest Lie has it all; humour, heartache, romance, action, kinkiness…and it’s all rolled up into one tidy package (pfft, package! C’mon, Jazz, be mature about this!) comprised of fantastic world building and equally fantastic writing. The LotU series is set in universe that blends our reality with the conjurings of Gena Showalter’s imagination and the result is a world in which readers can quite easily lose themselves for hours on end. Each of Gena’s characters are as unique as they are believable and I’m not sure if this is fair on the reader’s part because I have genuinely been looking into a weekend break in Budapest and my heart breaks to know I won’t be able to hang out with the Lords!

As for Gideon and Scarlet’s story, I think it’s one the best in the series yet. It’s not just your average run-of-the-mill romance. It runs deeper than that and their relationship is layered with complexity, which makes for an interesting, unexpected twist around half way through. Gideon is the man we all want (okay, maybe generalising there); he’s a little rough around the edges, he’s a bit of a bad boy…and yet he’s kind, sweet and gentle, even if he does struggle with the sweet nothings he whispers in Scarlet’s ear (I’m pretty sure he says at one point “I don’t want you, devil.”, although admittedly it is go-weak-at-the-knees sweet when you’ve translated it). Scarlet is one hell of a bad ass and she’s the woman I think I’ve always tried to be; a tough, take-no-shit exterior but with a squidgy, marshmallow, please-hold-me center (I am purely the latter).

I’ve mentioned this in a previous LotU review, but let’s talk about Cronus for a moment! Am I the only person who thinks he isn’t actually all that bad? Sure, he does have his faults (what he did to Aeron in the first two or three books wasn’t cool, I get that and how he treated Scarlet in Tartarus wasn’t all that nice either) but he’s making amends I like to think. He’s just a regular guy trying to do his best in this cruel, cruel world we live in. I kinda feel he tries to exude this cold-hearted, almighty persona but I think he’s a bit of a softie. He dishes out threats like I dish out baked beans on the breakfast shift at work, but he always, always relents. He’s like “Awww you kids, all loved up. Sure, don’t worry about the threats of eternal damnation and death! You go have fun, ‘k?”

Anyway, the votes are in and…

Rating: 5 out of 5 (in Gideon speak, I hated this book!)

Song: Fleetwood Mac’s Little Lies (I was brushing my teeth this morning and thinking of appropriate songs and when I thought of this, I spat my toothpaste out in excitement (in the sink, whoah, brackets within brackets))

reviewgif5

This book is available on Amazon in both e-reader and paperback format.

 

