51eufYqWRdL

When Brad is sent to live with the other chickens, his life of ease is transformed into one of struggle–for friendship, for love, for survival. But when everything he’s accomplished teeters on the edge of destruction, Brad discovers that the true struggle is against evil itself, and it may be a fight that is impossible for him to win.

Inspired by a true story, Home to Roost is touching, beautiful, and dark; a powerful debut novel.

underlinetransparent

So, Chauncey emailed me a while back, asking if I would like to read Home to Roost. The epic-sounding blurb intrigued me and this intrigue only deepened when Chauncey told me that people had “cried over” the book’s main character, a little rooster called Brad.

I will hold my hands up and say I was a little skeptical at first. I mean, sure, I’m a vegetarian but would a chicken really reduce me to tears? I wasn’t so sure, but…

I have never been so wrong in my life (well, maybe once or twice before, like that time when I thought cutting my hair when drunk was a the greatest idea ever) 

In fact, I cried at multiple points throughout this incredible book. What starts off as a simple story about a rooster trying to integrate with his new flock soon spirals into something much, much darker. There are so many different elements to this novel. There’s the horror aspect; the creature that howls in the deep dead of night, its mournful call chilling those who hear it down to the bone. There’s the exploration into the societal hierarchies that rule us all and the constant battle each and every individual – including Brad and Red, and Smokey the dog – faces against the powers that try to hold us back, that try to keep us from happiness and diminish the power and control we wield over our own lives. Home to Roost also looks at the seduction of vengeance and how far people will go to exact it upon those who have wronged them.

For a book that is seemingly about chickens, Home to Roost is a deeply complex novel and one of the many things I loved so much about it was the fact it wasn’t written as a parody. Despite Brad being a teeny tiny rooster, I found myself completely and utterly compelled by him and his life. The way in which this novel has been written meant that I could empathize with Brad and could experience the wide range of emotions felt by him.

In regards to the actual written style, Home to Roost is a beautifully-written, easy-to-read novel. The descriptions are detailed and emotive, yet not overly so, so I found the flow and pace of it to be just right.

To use the old cliché, this book is one hell of a page turner. I finished the final quarter in one sitting and kept finding myself staring at the words, seeing the events unfold within my mind, eyes wide and my hand covering my mouth to mask my shock and horror. I won’t reveal any spoilers but all I will say is the final few chapters are intense!

Easily one of the best reads of 2017 so far!

Rating: 10/5…I mean, 5/5

Song: Rage Against The Machine’s Take the power back 

reviewgif5

This book is available on Amazon in e-reader and paperback format.

 

