I have a problem.

I dish out more 5s than there are stars in the night sky when I’m reviewing books.

It’s something I’m becoming increasingly conscious of because of my stupid little GIF system. If you scroll down my blog, it’s just Rapunzel, Rapunzel and more Rapunzel.

I don’t know if I’m too easily impressed, or if I just have an amazingly good taste in books, but I feel like I’m being too liberal with my 5s. I want people to take me seriously as a reviewer and not just think “Oh that silly Jazz, she does love her 5 star ratings!”

I mean, I give a book 5 stars when I genuinely feel it deserves it, but I’m wondering if I’m not critiquing books as thoroughly as other book bloggers do?

My question for you guys is: What criteria do you judge a book by? How do you decide what rating to give it? 

 

