5177onwkGAL._SY346_

His anger is his power For weeks, the immortal warrior Aeron has sensed an invisible female presence. An angel – demon assassin – has been sent to kill him. Or has she? Olivia claims she fell from the heavens, giving up immortality because she couldn’t bear to harm him.

But trusting Olivia will endanger them all. How has this “mortal” with the huge blue eyes already unleashed Aeron’s darkest passion? Now, with an enemy hot on his trail and his faithful demon companion determined to remove Olivia from his life, Aeron is trapped between duty and consuming desire.

Worse still, a new executioner has been sent to do the job Olivia wouldn’t…

underlinetransparentI’d put off reading the next installment in the Lords of the Underworld series simply because I wasn’t, to be British and polite about it, over keen on Aeron. After the whole Danika thing (which admittedly wasn’t really his fault), I couldn’t imagine anyone being capable of inducing sentimental feelings within this hulking rage machine.

Having finally grabbed The Darkest Passion from the shelves, I opened up onto the first page and immediately became immersed within this intricate universe once more. The character building within this series is second to none; each and every character – be they good or bad/morally confused – is unique and memorable. Consequently, it’s so very easy to develop non-fictional feelings for fictional characters (ie. the pain I feel whenever I witness poor Paris’ suffering) and because of this, I found The Darkest Passion was a great opportunity to catch up on some of my favorites (Gideon fans, don’t raise your hands!).

However, while a great read, this isn’t my favorite book in the series so far. Don’t get me wrong, Olivia is sweet and her cluelessness makes for some hilariously awkward moments and Aeron, though pretty terrifying, is gentle, protective and kind…

…but I sometimes feel like I read the same story again and again with paranormal romance reads. 1) Girl meets boy (albeit immortal, powerful boy), 2) They fall in love but try to deny their feelings, 3) They finally realize their passion for one another cannot be contained, 4) Someone else doesn’t want them to be together, 5) One of them is killed, 6) Someone weeps to and pleads with the gods, 7) Against all odds, the murdered lover is resurrected and last but not least, 8) They finally end up together.

Sure, there are certain plots that can be relied upon again and again and can be guaranteed to produce a good story, but on the flip side, it can also make that very same story extremely predictable and one thing that I enjoy as a reader is being kept on my toes. If I can easily predict the events of the next chapter, then this doesn’t happen.

The Darkest Passion is great in so many ways – the characterization, the dialogue and interaction between the characters, the world building etc – but I found it to be very predictable. Previous books – like Sabin’s book and the twist regarding Gwen’s parentage – are full of twists and turns, so my slight disappointment with The Darkest Passion hasn’t put me off the series in any way at all.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Song: Eurythmics’ There must be an angel (playing with my heart)

reviewgif3

This book is available on Amazon in e-reader and paperback format.

