5126cQiw53L._SX304_BO1,204,203,200_

His obsession… Sabine, Sorceress of Illusions: the evil beauty who surrenders her body, but not her heart.
Her downfall… Rydstrom Woede: the ruthless warrior who vows to keep her at all costs.
They were never supposed to want each other this much… With each smoldering encounter, their shared hunger only increases. If they can defeat the sinister enemy that stands between them, will Sabine make the ultimate sacrifice for her demon? Or will the proud king lay down his crown and arms to save his sorceress?

underlinetransparent

I’ve had a soft spot for the Woede from the moment they first appeared in the Immortals After Dark series (in Mariketa and Bowen’s book, right?). Cade is overly flirtatious and playful; he’s one of those annoyingly charming, rough ‘n ready types with a warm heart beneath a tough exterior.

But…Rydstrom. He’s on a completely different level. He’s an absolute sweetheart and was so kind to Mariketa way back in Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night when she had been taken hostage by the incubi (say that out loud on a train and see how many weird stares you get. That sounds really weird out of context). He’s a true gentledemon; he’s noble, he’s honest, he’s kind…and he’s damn sexy (the black hair/green eyed combo has always been a killer for me) and I was basically channeling my inner rage demon, roaring in fury when Sabine lured him into her trap in Dark Desires After Dusk.  Not my Rydstrom, I mentally yelled in anguish, clutching my book with white-knuckled fingers.

But…as much as I love Rydstrom’s character, I felt his book didn’t do him justice. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed it but I don’t feel its one of the stronger books thus far in the IaD series. There is a plot – Rydstrom trying to win Sabine’s trust, but Sabine refusing to open her heart to him because of Omort’s influence etc – but a lot of it seems masked by the excessive amount of, er, sexually-charged moments between Rydstrom and Sabine, some of which are uncomfortably Lachlain-esque (see here for a more detailed explanation). Yes, I read paranormal romance and I enjoy the more romantic, steamy scenes…but I like balance and this is something I felt Kiss of a Demon King was lacking.

On a positive note, though, Kiss of a Demon King expands upon the universe in which this series is set. We’re introduced to a whole host of previously unnamed Lore species and I love the intricacy with which the characters and their stories are woven together. There hasn’t been a single moment throughout this entire series where I’ve thought “How the hell does he know her?” or “What the fuck is she doing there?“. Be it through alliances or friendships, everyone in the IoD universe is connected somehow. This is great, in my opinion anyway, because when you pick up the next book, you can glare at the front cover, muttering about how one character three books ago didn’t like them and how you’re not expecting great things from them…okay, that makes me sound a little bit unhinged.

Rating: 2.8 (Not quite a three because of the plot, but not a two because I adore Rydstrom)

Song: Kiss’ I was made for lovin’ you 

giphy (21)
So I like the character but not his story? This is how awkward I feel right now…

This book is available to buy on Amazon in both e-reader and paperback format.

 

