mv5bmty5mti1mze5nl5bml5banbnxkftztgwmjqznjezote-_v1_ux182_cr00182268_al_

FYI, as you might have guessed, this is my non-paranormal romance read.

When James Bowen found an injured cat curled up in the hallway of his sheltered accommodation, he couldn’t even begin to imagine just how much his life was about to change. A recovering drug addict, James was living hand-to-mouth and knew adopting a cat was the last thing he should do. 

Having successfully nursed the cat, now named Bob, back to health, James decided the best course of action would be to return Bob to his life as a street cat. 

Bob – intelligent, inquisitive and loyal – had other ideas, though. 

This is their story. 

zsgbn2

A Street Cat Named Bob has surged back into the UK book charts following the release of its movie adaptation. Knowing that I adore cats, my aunt bought me a copy of this delightful book for Christmas. Initially, I was a little apprehensive. I’m not great with biographies, especially if they revolve around sad themes. I’m a sensitive soul, you could say, and cry way too easily over ‘real life stories’. I saw the words ‘drug addict’, ‘homeless’ and ‘cat’ and immediately thought “Uh-oh, is this gonna be a tear jerker? Am I going to be reduced to a trembling, tear-choked mess ten pages in?”.

A Street Cat Named Bob is one hell of an emotional rollercoaster, that’s for sure. There were indeed moments where my eyes were welling up – a fine example being when Bob was spooked and James thought he’d deserted him for good – but the positive, heartwarming and uplifting moments far outweighed them. Bob is more than just a pet. To James, Bob is a “soul mate” – a loyal, loving companion who saw him through his darkest hours. A Street Cat Named Bob reminds us, its readers, that when the world seems to have turned its back on us, we can always rely on the unconditional love of our pets to pull us through.

When I was eight years old, my grandparents gifted me with two cats. When they arrived at our house, their carrier completely and utterly dwarfed them, these teeny tiny bundles of grey ‘floof’. Being the creative child I was, I named them Foggy and Misty and we shared so many happy years together. Sadly, Foggy fell ill with feline diabetes when I was 16 and Misty passed away when I was in Japan in 2015. Their deaths were excruciating for me. They’d seen me through so much. Through the bullying I endured in high school, through the drama that was my teenage love life…

To think that I could never again snuggle up to them, telling them all my woes while they purred away contentedly, was heartwrenching. It took me a long time to come to terms with their deaths. They were my childhood companions, my best friends in many respects.

A Street Cat Named Bob did make me miss the warm presence of my fur babies, but it also evoked many cherished memories, memories that have seen me smiling at random moments these past few days. I would very much like to thank the wonderful James Bowen and Bob for that. It’s been wonderful being able to think about my cats without a fog of sadness descending over me.

I really cannot recommend this book enough.

Rating: 5/5 (hell, on a scale of 1 to 5, this is a 10!)

Song: Queen’s You’re my best friend

Want to know more about Bob and James? You can buy their book in e-reader and paperback format on Amazon. Additionally, you can also watch this super cute interview with them on YouTube!

 

 

 

