book-blogger-insider-tag

A huge thanks to Emma for tagging me! Be sure to check out her fantastic blog. It’s bursting with a wide array of reviews and is also extremely aesthetically pleasing. Random but I love the color scheme 😀  As I mentioned in a previous post, I love both answering questions and reading other people’s answers. I like being able to see beneath the surface of our blogs, down to the people behind the screens. I find WordPress’ book bloggers such a friendly bunch and it’s great to get to know everyone just that little bit better.

Rules:
1.Answer the questions below
2.Credit the creator: Jamie @ A Little Slice of Jamie
3.Tag at least 5 people
4.Have fun!

1. Where do you typically write your blog posts?

My longer blog posts (reviews, lists etc) are written from my cozy little nook in the corner of my lounge. The armchair I sit in is a recliner and I have a small coffee table beside me which is usually laden down with at least one cup of tea, several snacks and a pile of books. Shorter posts, like GIFs or memes, can be written anywhere. On the bus, in bed…the list is endless! If I have internet connection there, I will probably post from there.

2. How long does it generally take you to write a book review?

It really depends on how much I enjoyed the book. The more I enjoyed it, the less time it takes me to write. Enthusiasm for the novel will just seep out of me, enabling my fingers to dance over the keyboard at lightening speed. However, if it’s a book that I didn’t enjoy for whatever reason, it can sometimes take me up to a two hours to write a review simply because I’m busy thumbing my way back through the book, finding various quotes to justify my criticism. I think my review of Lara Adrian’s Kiss of Midnight is a good example of this. I think sometimes I’m a bit too thorough!

3. When did you start your book blog?

About three months ago.

4. What is the worst thing about having a book blog in your opinion?

Erm, this is a difficult one. I guess the worst thing is probably how anxious I sometimes get. I know, I know. It’s stupid to get anxious over a blog. Let me clarify, though. I have anxiety and have done for many years. Sometimes, this anxiety manifests itself in the form of a little voice in my head (I guess it would be called EGO in psychological terms) that tells me how shit my blog is in comparison to others etc. I know it’s not true because I’ve received some lovely comments and have ‘met’ some incredible people, but I guess anxiety skews my perspective of reality, making me see it through a prism of self-consciousness.

5. What is the best thing about having a book blog in your opinion?

Without a doubt it’s meeting and talking with like-minded people. It’s nice being able to joke about a funny line I’ve read or rant with somebody about an overused trope. I feel like I’m among my people here!

6. What blog post have you had the most fun writing so far?

I’m gonna cheat on this one and choose several. I really, really enjoy writing my Date Night features. I can incorporate both reviewing and creative writing into one post and I like how I’ve inadvertently created this weird storyline where I’ve been contracted by I swoon over fictional, non-human men HQ to find the reader a perfect date. When I write those pieces, I adopt the persona of a reluctant and exasperated matchmaker who wants nothing more than to stay home and drink tea (who am I kidding? This is just me all over) but is instead faced with an indecisive client who flits between a growing number of men (and one woman – a scary ass archangel). They’re immensely fun to write!

7. When do you typically write?

It depends when I’m working. For example, I’m working the 2-10pm shift today so I’m writing this at 10am. Given the choice, though, I prefer writing in the evening.

8. Do you review every book you read?

I only review it if it fits with the theme of my blog. My blog’s called I swoon over fictional, non-human men so it would be pointless reviewing War and Peace. 

9. How do you write your book reviews? With a cup of coffee or tea? With Netflix? Cuddled with your fur baby?

With my headphones in and a cup of tea beside me. Jeez, I swear I mention tea every other sentence.

10. When do you write your book reviews? Right after finishing the book? Two weeks after finishing the book?

If not the same day, then definitely the day after. It really depends how busy I am. As much as I would love to take time off work to write a review, I need the money!

 11. How often do you post?

I aim to post everyday. It’s a little challenge I set myself when I first started my blog. If I don’t make something a part of my everyday routine, I can let life take over and forget about it and because I’d been wanting to start a book blog for months, I really didn’t want that to happen. Even if I just post a silly meme, it’s something. I think in the whole time I’ve had this blog, there’s only been one day where I’ve neglected to post anything.

I tag:

  1. Danielle 
  2. Eleanor
  3. Kel
  4. Elaine
  5. Abby

And anyone else who feels like joining in on the fun! 🙂 Cheers for reading!

 

