As much as I love this genre, there are recurrent themes that seem to pop up time and time again. Being the super organized person that I am (that’s a lie), I have decided to craft a neat list, detailing each specific trope that annoys me. What tropes annoy you?

1. Guys with the sex drive of a sex robot with no off switch. I think of their bed buddies and I feel physically pained by the shit that they have to put up with. After sex, it’s always nice to have a bit of ‘down time’, time to snuggle and relax and all that cute shiz (I think anyway) as opposed to having some guy with a raging erection looming over you three seconds later wanting to go again and again and again and again…c’mon, fellas. Give them a break!

annoyed

2. Suuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuper old immortal guys hooking up with comparatively young women. This is a recurrent theme in most paranormal romance fiction that I’ve read thus far and I find it strange to think of these guys being ancient before their love interest’s grandparents were even conceived.

AubreyPlazaNo

3. The abuse of paranormal powers when faced with a mortal lover who doesn’t want to comply with their wishes *cough* Lucan Thorne *cough*

cskl9gtgsvimktttqser

4. Perfect, mind blowing sex that always, always culminates in earth-shattering, simultaneous orgasms. Although, maybe this only annoys me because it reminds me of all the bad sex I’ve ever had.

Liz-Lemon-Eye-Roll

5. Possessive, overbearing males. I’ve lost count of the amount of times I’ve read the lines “You are mine” or  “You belong to me”. Being in a relationship is a privilege, not a right. Remember that, ladies and gents!

tumblr_mqfampbfRs1ql5yr7o1_500

