6. A book by an author you’ve never read before

Does this have to be a book I’ve read, or a book I’m planning on reading? I’m gonna go with the latter. I’m currently living with my family and near our house, there’s a second hand bookstore. It’s quite a nice area in which it’s located. There’s a coffee shop a few doors down and downstairs from the bookstore there’s a thrift store selling all manner of second hand goods. I go there quite frequently because it’s a good way to pass an hour or two and when you live in as isolated an area as me, you need all the entertainment you can get.

Anyway, as I always do, I digress. The last time I was there I bought two books, both penned by authors whom I have not previously read. The first book is The Watchers by Neil Spring and the second is The Haunting of James Hastings by Christopher Ransom. I know the former has been quite popular as of late (I think it might even have been turned into a TV series actually). I’m saving them for a day when I have nothing on and I can safely consume them in the daylight hours. Despite being a fan of paranormal fiction, I’m prone to creeping myself out when reading spooky stories at night. I remember in my first year of college reading The Woman in Black in the lonely, silent nocturnal hours. I went to the windowless bathroom and the lone bulb started to flicker on and off, on and off. I was sat on the toilet, simply overcome with fear as I waited for some dark figure to appear as the bulb stuttered back to life, just like they do in horror movies. Oh and let’s not forget the time I was reading a Stephen King novel as a bedtime book and started having night terrors. Deary me, I’m a mess.

7488601_orig

8563967

